Ministry of Planning and Finance Receives EuroCham Energy Advocacy Group

The EuroCham Energy Advocacy Group met with the Deputy Minister U Maung Maung Win of the Ministry of Planning and Finance on the 10th of October in Nay Pyi Taw. The meeting was also joined by the Permanent Secretary U Tun Tun Naing, Deputy Director General of the Budget Department Daw Thida Tun, Deputy General Manager of the Myanmar Economic Bank U Tin Moe Thein, Deputy Director General of the Foreign Economic Relations Department U Tun Zaw, and Deputy Director of the Directorate of Investment and Company Registration U Aung Swe Oo.

The EuroCham delegation was represented by the Deputy Director of EuroCham Myanmar Mr. Marc de la Fouchardiere, Members of the Energy Advocacy Group Ms. Andrea Isabel from SN Power, Mr. Romaric Roignan from Total E&P Myanmar, Mr. Alessandro Gelmetti from ENI Myanmar, Mr. John Field from Shell Myanmar Energy Pte. Ltd. as well as EuroCham Government Affairs Manager Mr. Htet Aung Khine.

The meeting was set in order to discuss several topics including Government guarantee in payment support towards private sector projects, the acceptability of local and foreign currencies as payment methods, government subsidizing in energy tariffs, the fiscal terms in the upstream exploration and production section, and among others, the energy pricing and energy efficiency culture in Myanmar. The Advocacy Group additionally raised questions upon the recently introduced Myanmar Sustainable Development Plan, as well as on the Ministry their perspective towards the lending from international financial institutions after the recent developments surrounding the Rakhine situation.

Deputy Director Mr. Marc de la Fouchardiere also presented EuroCham Whitebook 2018 to the Deputy Minister after the meeting.

Follow us to stay updated on our latest news and upcoming events.

Sign up to EuroCham Myanmar Newsletter