EuroCham Construction & Infrastructure Advocacy Group promotes European construction standards and signs an MoU with the Myanmar Engineering Society

January 8th 2019 marks the starting date of a fruitful collaboration between EuroCham Construction & Infrastructure Advocacy Group and Myanmar Engineering Society as they established a cooperation platform through a Memorandum of Understanding.

The ceremony started by MES President U Aung Myint followed by an MES introduction by General Secretary U Tin Latt. This was followed by an opening remark from EuroCham Executive Director Mr. Filip Lauwerysen, introducing the establishment of the European Chamber of Commerce. Co-Chair of the Advocacy Group Mr. Vadim Nunez Pawlowsky highlighted the mandate of the group and described their interest in working together with the MES. In final, the MoU was signed and MES President U Aung Myint presented his concluding remarks.

This MoU brings the two parties closer together in developing Myanmar in a sustainable, affordable and qualitative manner. EuroCham Construction & Infrastructure Advocacy Group looks forward to future collaboration and hopes that their experience may be of importance to the MES, and likewise, that the Advocacy Group may learn from the MES their in-depth knowledge of the Myanmar Construction Industry.

EuroCham Construction and Infrastructure Advocacy Group is growing continuously and currently represents 11 leading European companies. The Group seeks to create a mutually beneficial relationship and trusting environment for all players in the Myanmar construction industry.

Meeting Attendees

The Myanmar Engineering Society was represented by President U Aung Myint, Vice-President U Khin Maung Htaey, Vice-President U Lin, Vice-President Dr. Khin Sandar Tun, Vice-President Dr. Cho Win Maw, Hon. Treasurer Prof. Khin Maung Chit, General Secretary U Tin Latt, Hon. Auditor U Hla Win, Joint General Secretary U Saw Htwe Zaw, Chief Executive Officer U Myint Soe, Joint Publicist U Soe and Central Executive Committee Member U Win Naing.

EuroCham Myanmar was represented by Executive Director Mr. Filip Lauwerysen, Co-Chair Mr. Vadim Nunez Pawlowsky, Co-Chair Daw Sandar Aung Rebiere, Member Mr. Mark Petrovic, Member Mr. Damien Busson, EuroCham Business Development Officer U Phyoe Wai Khant, EuroCham Business Development Associate Mr. Kaung Paing and EuroCham Advocacy Officer Mr. Erik Foppen.

Follow us to stay updated on our latest news and upcoming events.

Sign up to EuroCham Myanmar Newsletter